Jeep Wrangler Rubicon spied in India for the first time

19/05/2019 - 13:30 | ,  ,   | Prashant Singh

FCA India is taking the fourth generation Jeep Wrangler (JL) more seriously than it did the third generation model (JK). The company is testing the all-new model in not only the 2-door version and the plush Sahara grade but also the extra-rugged Rubicon grade. Here are the first spy shots of the Jeep Wrangler JL Rubicon snapped in India, courtesy ZigWheels.

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Rubicon is the most off-road capable trim of the Jeep Wrangler JL.

The Jeep Wrangler JL was introduced in four trims: Sport, Sport S, Sahara and Rubicon, with Rubicon as the toughest of the bunch and aimed at off-road enthusiasts. The Rubicon name is derived the Rubicon Trail in California which is celebrated as one of the most challenging off-road trails in the USA. The spy shots were taken at the brand's Pune dealership, and the "On Test By ARAI" stickers on the test mule suggest that the Rubicon grade is being homologated for launch in India. Last year, a Moab edition that slots above Rubicon and has a higher focus on comfort and luxury aspects was introduced, but it hasn't been spotted here yet.

The Rubicon trim looks quite similar to Sahara trim, but it doesn't get those shiny accents on the front bumper. It's easily recognisable from the large Rubicon decals on the bonnet, though. Another tell-tale sign is the 17-inch wheels wrapped in large, 32-inch or 33-inch (depending on the market) off-road tyres.

The off-road-oriented features of the Rubicon grade, in addition to the big BF Goodrich tyres, include exclusive high-clearance fender flares, steel off-road rock rails and skid plates, Rock-Trac 4x4 system with a low-gear ratio of 4:1 and third-generation Dana 44 heavy-duty axles with Tru-Lok front and rear locking differentials, electronic front sway bar disconnect.

On the inside, the Rubicon grade comes with 7-inch full-color Driver Information Display, 7-inch infotainment touchscreen display with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, dual-zone automatic climate control, leather-wrapped steering wheel, 8-speaker sound system with overhead sound bar, push-button start, Tire Pressure Monitoring Display, 12-volt outlets and 115-volt auxiliary power outlet and much more.

The Jeep Wrangler JL comes with three engine options: 3.6L Pentastar naturally aspirated petrol (284 PS/347 Nm), 2.0L T-GDi turbocharged petrol (272 PS/400 Nm) and 2.2L MultiJet II turbo diesel (200 PS/450 Nm). All engines feature Stop-Start (ESS). 6-speed manual and 8-speed automatic are the transmission choices.

Wrangler Rubicon
The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon's name is derived from the Rubicon Trail in California which is celebrated as the most challenging off-road trails in the USA.

Also Read: Indian-spec Jeep Compass Trailhawk exterior & interior leaked

The Jeep Wrangler JL is expected to be launched in India in late-2019. It will be imported via the CBU route.

[Image Source - ZigWheels]

You might also like