IDEMITSU Honda Ten10 Racing steals the show at 2018 National Championship finale

21/01/2019 - 15:52 | ,   | Ajinkya Lad

The 2018 racing season of the National Championships proved to be hugely successful for IDEMITSU Honda Ten10 Racing as the team grabbed 4 out of 6 positions in the overall national championship races that concluded in Chennai in December 2018.

Honda Rider Abhishek Vasudev 9 Clinches The First
Honda rider Abhishek Vasudev (#9) clinches the first podium in the CBR 250R Category in the Honda Talent Cup.

The IDEMITSU Honda Ten10 Racing team completed the podium with a triple finish in the Pro-Stock 165cc category. Anish Shetty won the championship in the Pro Stock 165cc class, while team secured the constructors' championship.

Speaking on the performance of Honda riders, Mr Prabhu Nagaraj, Vice President, Brand & Communication, Honda Motorcycle & Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. said:

It was the perfect finish to a great racing season. Our riders not only met our expectations but they outdid them by putting the team at such a high pedestal. We are proud that our veteran riders, as well as our newly discovered young talent, performed phenomenally across this season. Not only have we been able to retain our triple-crown in the Pro-Stock category but also gave a very close fight in the Super-Sport category which has given us a lot of confidence for the next season. We are all set with a much bigger roadmap and future plan for these riders.

Here are the results of the final round of the INMRC 2018 and the Honda Talent Cup 2018.

SuperSport 165cc Class

The IDEMITSU Honda Ten10 Racing team dominated the Race 2 of the Super Sport 165cc category as the Honda riders grabbed all three podium positions. Rajiv Sethu won the race, while Mathana Kumar and Sarath Kumar bagged the second and third positions. Rajiv Sethu and Mathana Kumar have been crowned the first and second runners-up with 145 and 130 points, respectively in the national championship.

Pro Stock 165cc Class

In the Race 2 of the Pro Stock 165cc Class, Anish Shetty soon the race with a photo-finish, who chased down his competitor to clinch the podium. The IDEMITSU Honda Ten10 Racing team grabbed two positions this season. While Anish Shetty won the championship with181 points, 17 years old, Senthil Kumar came in the third position with 118 points.

IDEMITSU Honda India CBR 250R

The racing weekend saw an intense fight for the pole position as Abhishek Vasudev won Race 1, followed by Anish Shetty in second place. However, Race 2 witnessed a switch in the ranks, with Anish Shetty clinching the podium, while Abhishek came second.

It was the young Bengaluru star Abhishek Vasudev who won the championship in the Honda CBR 250R category with total points of 171. Honda’s International Rider and Pro-Stock 165cc champion, Anish Shetty finished as the first runner-up with 165 points, while Senthil Kumar secured the third position with a total of 140 points.

Honda Rider Mohamed Mukail 21 Wins The First Podiu
14 years old Honda rider, Mohamed Mukail (#21) wins the first podium in the Honda Talent Cup CBR 150R Novice Category.

Also Read: 47.6 BHP, 250cc Honda NSF 250R arriving in India next year

CBR 150R Talent Cup

The novice category witnessed participation from over 17 riders competing for the title. 14-year old Mohamad Mukail won Race 3, while, Kritik Habib, who started the race from the 7th grid finished second. Mohamad Mukail secured his maiden title win in Honda Talent Cup CBR 150R, with consistent performances throughout the season. Anandhu KK came second in the championships, followed by Kritik Habib (another talent hunt finds) in the third position.

You might also like