NAIAS Live - 2014 Lexus IS 250, IS 350 & IS 300h

15/01/2013 - 22:32 | ,   | Nithyanandh K

Please standby for better images.

Lexus has just unveiled the next generation Lexus IS series at the ongoing Detroit Auto Show.

2014 Lexus IS front fascia2014 Lexus IS front three quarters2014 Lexus IS

The 2014 Lexus IS range is diversified into IS 250, IS 350, and the IS 300h, the first IS to feature Lexus Hybrid Drive. All models across the range will be available in the F Sport variant as well.

The new IS features the Lexus spindle grille frontal design, L-shaped LED daytime running lights. F SPORT models differentiate themselves from the standard models by a different grill, front bumper and 18" Y-spoke alloy wheels. The grill in F SPORT models bring about a larger air inlet area which Lexus claims is appropriate for the sporty performance.

Features of 2014 Lexus IS 250, IS 350 and IS 300h

  • IS 250 is powered by a 2.5 litre V6 petrol engine
  • IS 350 makes do with a 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine
  • IS 300h gets a hybrid powertrain based on a newly developed 2.5 litre engine that works on Atkinson cycle
  • IS model range offers Eco, Norma, Sport and Sport S+ driving modes, the latter being available only in IS 350
  • IS 350 RWD features 8-speed Sport Direct Shift (SPDS) auto tranny which blips the throttle in manual mode
  • IS is the first Lexus model range to adopt G force Artificial Intelligence (G-AI) control in Sport mode which automatically selects the optimal gear and downshift pattern corresponding to the G force around a corner
  • F SPORT models get specifically tuned Electric Power Steering (EPS) and suspension for enhanced handling
  • The 2014 Lexus IS range gets LFA inspired steering wheel
  • The wheelbase is nearly 3" longer resulting in better interior room
  • 60:40 lockable split/folding rear seats are standard across the range
  • Lexus Display Audio or Remote Touch-controlled Navigation multimedia systems are available, based on the variants
  • The 2014 Lexus IS gets 10 airbags, Automatic high Beam (AHB), Lane Departure Alert system (LDA), Blind Spot Monitor (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert system (RCTA)

The renewed Lexus IS model range will go on sale in mid-2013 and the IS 300h will be available in Japan and select international markets.

Please standby for better images.

You might also like