F1 2009- Force India's Sutil crashes out at 6th place with less than 10 laps to finish at China

19/04/2009 - 10:01 | ,  ,  ,   | Shrawan Raja


The title illustrates and communicates my disappointment. It could have been a dream weekend for Vijay Mallya, team owner. His cricket team, the Royal Challengers emerged winners in its inaugural IPL cricket match yesterday and today his Force India car driven by Adrian Sutil in the Shanghai may well have taken sixth place ahead of last year's world championship contenders Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa.

But not all days are Fridays as some put it.

Sutil was under constant pressure from Lewis Hamilton, who was fighting hard to regain the position which he lost to Sutil after spinning out a few laps earlier. Sutil lost grip, he was carrying more speed than the car could handle forcing him to spin out and hit the barrier with 6 laps to the checkered flag of the Chinese GP. Damage was irreparable.

The positives Mallya can take away from the Chinese GP is Sutil's car was doing well in the wet weather and also exhibited its competence in yesterday's qualifying. In spite of them taking the back row of the grid, the time difference between Vettel's car who started today's race at pole, and the Force India cars was very little.

As the season progresses, I expect the Force India cars to close the gap much further, and I hope they will be able to secure a few much needed points.

The Force India car of Sutil was equivalent to the Mclarens and Ferraris in terms of traction, cornering abilities, straight line speed and acceleration. One thing which Mallya needs, which he doesn't have access to is good luck.

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 S. Vettel Red Bull 1:57:43.485
2 M. Webber Red Bull + 10.970
3 J. Button Brawn GP + 44.975
4 R. Barrichello Brawn GP + 1:03.704
5 H. Kovalainen McLaren + 1:05.102
6 L. Hamilton McLaren + 1:11.866
7 T. Glock Toyota + 1:14.476
8 S. Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso + 1:16.439
9 F. Alonso Renault F1 + 1:24.309
10 K. Räikkönen Ferrari + 1:31.750
11 S. Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso + 1:34.156
12 N. Heidfeld BMW Sauber + 1:35.834
13 R. Kubica BMW Sauber + 1:46.853
14 G. Fisichella Force India F1 + 1 laps
15 N. Rosberg Williams + 1 laps
16 N. Piquet jr. Renault F1 + 2 laps
Did not finish
17 A. Sutil Force India F1 + 6 laps
18 K. Nakajima Williams + 13 laps
19 F. Massa Ferrari + 35 laps
20 J. Trulli Toyota + 37 laps

You might also like

Most Viewed