Massa wins at Belgium after Hamilton is penalised


Ferrari’s Felipe Massa has been declared the winner of Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix after McLaren’ Lewis Hamilton was handed a 25-second time penalty following the race. Hamilton drops to third as a result, with BMW Sauber’s Nick Heidfeld moving up to second place.

Hamilton was penalised after stewards decided he had gained an advantage by cutting the final chicane in his late-race battle with Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen.

The decision means that rather than extending his championship lead over Massa, Hamilton now sees it cut, with the Brazilian trailing the Briton by just two points, 76 to 74, with five races remaining.

Read on for race results from


12Felipe MassaFerrari441:22:59.394210
23Nick HeidfeldBMW Sauber44+9.3 secs58
322Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes44+10.5 secs16
45Fernando AlonsoRenault44+14.4 secs65
515Sebastian VettelSTR-Ferrari44+14.5 secs104
64Robert KubicaBMW Sauber44+15.0 secs83
714Sebastien BourdaisSTR-Ferrari44+16.7 secs92
810Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault44+42.7 secs71
912Timo GlockToyota44+67.0 secs13
1023Heikki KovalainenMcLaren-Mercedes43+1 Lap3
119David CoulthardRed Bull-Renault43+1 Lap14
127Nico RosbergWilliams-Toyota43+1 Lap15
1320Adrian SutilForce India-Ferrari43+1 Lap18
148Kazuki NakajimaWilliams-Toyota43+1 Lap19
1516Jenson ButtonHonda43+1 Lap17
1611Jarno TrulliToyota43+1 Lap11
1721Giancarlo FisichellaForce India-Ferrari43+1 Lap20
181Kimi RäikkönenFerrari42Accident4
Ret17Rubens BarrichelloHonda19Gearbox16
Ret6Nelsinho PiquetRenault13Accident12
Contribute to IAB
Submit Spyshots & get Bragging rights! Click Here
Custom Mods on your ride? Get it featured on IAB Submit